Products We Love: Natalia’s Kitchen Sweet Potatoe Tomato Sauce

NK-Sauce

 

Sweet potatoes are like the holy grail of amazingly healthy foods for you, they are also extremely universal. I mean you can make fries, mash potatoes, shredded them up, but never did I think that they can be used as a pasta sauce.

Okay I know it is weird sounding right, using sweet potatoes instead of tomato sauce but trust me when I say this actually works. When I was first given this product I was not having it. I am not a huge fan of sweet potatoes, and taking away a perfectly fine tomato sauce was not okay with me.  I was convinced to just try it, like a little off the lid, to even see if I would enjoy it.

With my first taste I could not believe I was eating sweet potatoes and not a tomato sauce. This sauce tasted exactly like a tomato sauce that I would normally eat on my pasta, except it was orange. So then I had to put it to the real test. I made up some zucchini lasagna and used 3/4 of the jar of sauce with our lasagna and mozzarella cheese, I let it bake and then went at it.

To say it was delicious is an understatement. The flavor was amazing, the perfect amount of spices were combined in the sauce, and I still could not tell that I was eating sweet potatoes.

So you are probably wondering “why switch over?” Usually companies use a lot of sugar in the tomato sauce, making it not so healthy for you. Natalia’s Sweet Potato Tomato Sauce has no sugar added though and no artificial ingredients which is a win win for me. While the calories might make you cringe, 230 for 1/2, you do have to remember what you are eating and realize that it is a healthy 230 you are putting into your body.

Also this product is really universal, you don’t have to use it in a pasta like I did, there are loads of other ways to make it and enjoy it.

Trust me when I tell you to take this leap and just try it, you won’t regret it. We found Natalia’s at our local Raileys.

Leave a Reply

